Roger Binny appointed new BCCI president, to replace Sourav Ganguly

Former India captain Ganguly earlier said that while he enjoyed his time as an administrator thoroughly, one can neither play forever nor remain in administration forever.

Published: 18th October 2022 01:03 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th October 2022 06:17 PM   |  A+A-

Roger Binny, BCCI President

Newly elected BCCI President Roger Binny.(Photo | PTI)


MUMBAI: World Cup winner Roger Binny was on Tuesday elected as the 36th president of the BCCI, taking over from Sourav Ganguly to run the world's richest cricket board but the sports body's AGM concluded without any discussion on the ICC Chairmanship.

Binny, 67, was elected unopposed at the BCCI AGM (Annual General Meeting) here alongside Jay Shah, who was re-elected as the secretary for a second successive term.

The other office bearers who were elected unopposed included treasurer Ashish Shelar, vice-president Rajeev Shukla and joint secretary Devjit Saikia.

Binny, who played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India, takes charge ahead of the ODI World Cup in India next year.

However, the issue of the chairmanship of the International Cricket Council (ICC) remained unsettled and the new set of office bearers will take a call on the issue.

The observers keenly waited for the outcome of the AGM but the BCCI chose not to take a decision on the issue which is being discussed even in political corridors.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee had recently appealed that Ganguly be allowed to contest the ICC polls after the former India captain denied a second term as BCCI President.

The next ICC chairman will be elected during the board meeting in Melbourne next month but it seems that incumbent Greg Barclay will continue in the role for his second successive term.

"As far as India's representative to the ICC is concerned, it will be decided by the office-bearers. There was no discussion on the ICC chairmanship. Only matters on the agenda were discussed," a state unit official who attended the AGM told PTI.

It is unlikely that the BCCI will nominate its own candidate for the ICC chairman's position, with the October 20 nomination deadline approaching.

Arun Dhumal appointed IPL chairman

Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal was elected in the IPL governing council alongside Avishek Dalmiya.

Dhumal has become the new IPL chairman, replacing Brijesh Patel.

"The members of the General Body appreciated the efforts of the outgoing office bearers, IPL Governing Council Chairman and members, and Councillors for the work undertaken in their term," said the BCCI in a statement.

MKJ Majumdar was elected in the BCCI Apex Council as the representative of the General Body.

Women's IPL approved

The General Body also approved the inaugural Women's IPL which will consist of five teams and will be held in March.

"How the teams will be sold and how the tournament will be conducted will be decided by the GC shortly," said a source.

ALSO READ | Power games: Sourav’s ouster scripted at Shah’s residence

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp