Six U-23 footballers in India's Asian Cup Qualifier squad against Macau

Leading Group A with six points, India will leave Friday for the AFC Asian Cup Qualifier match against Macau.

Published: 31st August 2017 04:05 PM  |   Last Updated: 31st August 2017 04:05 PM   |  A+A-

India currently stay on top of Group A with six points, courtesy back to back victories against Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan.


NEW DELHI:  As many as six players from Indias AFC U-23 campaign in Doha were on Thursday named in the 24-member squad for Indias upcoming AFC Asian Cup Qualifier match against Macau on September 5.

The squad will be departing for Macau on Friday.

India currently stay on top of Group A with six points, courtesy back to back victories against Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan.

However, national coach Stephen Constantine felt there is no reason to underestimate Macau as a team.

"Macau will be playing at home and in front of their home crowd. There's always a marked difference between playing at home and playing an away match, but we are aware of the challenge," Constantine said on arrival.

The team has been camping in Mumbai since August 12, and has played two international matches against Mauritius and St. Kitts and Nevis in the Hero Tri-nation Football series as part of the preparation.

"The matches provided us the much needed match practice ahead of our challenge against Macau," Constantine said.

Legendary footballer I.M. Vijayan, who will also be travelling to Macau as an observer, said the team looks to be in great shape.

"The body language is positive but ahead of such matches, there's always a tendency of taking it a bit lightly against lower ranked opponents. The boys need to keep working hard on the ground against Macau," he stated.

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Subrata Paul, Albino Gomes.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Lalruatthara, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Arnab Mondal, Salam Ranjan Singh, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Rowllin Borges, Md. Rafique, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Halicharan Narzary.

Forwards: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Balwant Singh.

Stay up to date on all the latest Football news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp