India star Chhangte signs for Chennaiyin

Chennaiyin FC signed 22-year-old winger Lallianzuala Chhangte on Friday. The India international had a two-year spell with Delhi Dynamos and a trial with Norwegian club Viking.

Published: 31st August 2019 09:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st August 2019 09:14 AM   |  A+A-

St Bede’s AIHSS, winners of the St Bede’s trophy U-12 tournament

By Express News Service

NEW DELHI: Chennaiyin FC signed 22-year-old winger Lallianzuala Chhangte on Friday. The India international had a two-year spell with Delhi Dynamos and a trial with Norwegian club Viking.

Title for Shamini
K Shamini of IOC defeated S Selena Deepthi of Jawahar 11-9, 11-6, 11-6, 11-6 in the women’s final of the IOC-Tamil Nadu state table tennis championship.
Results: (all finals): Men: E Prabhakaran (SRSA) bt S Nikhil 6-11, 11-8, 6-11, 11-3, 7-11, 11-5, 11-9. Boys: Junior: D Vishwa (KTTC) bt S Preyesh (CPS) 11-5, 10-12, 8-11, 3-11, 11-6, 13-11.Women: K Shamini (IOC) bt S Selena Deepthi (Jawahar) 11-9, 11-6, 11-6, 11-6. Girls: Junior: M Nithyashree (Ch Ach) bt M Yazhini (Jawahar) 7-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-8, 11-7.

Dhyan-Karthick advance
Dhyan and Karthick of Cue Zone beat Dharshan and Hemanth of Smart Shooters 59-50, 50-9 in the Madras United Club non-medallist doubles snooker tournament.
Results: Imran/Aslam (Smart Shooters) bt Mahesh/Hitesh (Cue Zone) 57- 21, 65-35; Arjun/Shoaib (Q Ball City) bt Murtuza Nazmi/Syed Ejaz (Haddows) 63-43, 54-14; Sainath/Jonny (Cue Zone) bt Shahjahan/Yadhav (YMCA Kilpauk) 57-34, 70-37; Dhyan/Karthick (Cue Zone) bt Dharshan/Hemanth (Smart Shooters) 59-50, 50-9; Sathish/Nirmal Vel (TNCA) bt Yeshwanth/Nishant (Masse) 53-36, 57-19; D Ganesh/P Arvind (MUC) bt Raj/Pradeep (Impact) 65-53, 66-24; Elangovan/Ramachandran (YMCA Esplanade) bt Saravanan/Ricky (Smart Shooters) 37- 45, 55-40, 47-27.

Mokit cracks fifty
RS Mokit Hariharan’s stubborn effort (76 batting) enabled Combined Districts to post 351 for 8 in 86 overs in their second essay against City on Day 3 of their U-19 match in Coimbatore. 
Brief scores: Combined Districts 183 and 351/8 in 86 in ovs (Boopathi Vaishnakumar 66, RS Mokit Hariharan 76 batting; P Vidyuth 3/72) vs City 337 in 97.5 ovs.

Arjun steals limelight
S Arjun (66; 3/20) helped St Bede’s beat Chettinad Vidyashram by 69 runs in the St Bede’s Trophy.
Brief scores: St Bede’s AIHSS 168/6 in 30 ovs (S Arjun 66) bt Chettinad Vidyashram 99 all out in 28.3 ovs (Shailesh Dev 3/9. MoM: S  Arjun (St Bede’s). Best batsman: Abhinav Rajesh (St Michael’s). Best bowler:  B Sandeep (Chettinad). Player of the tournament: Shailesh (St Bede’s).

MOP Vaishnav win
MOP Vaishnav College for Women bagged the basketball title in the ‘A’ Zone level tournament organised by University of Madras, at DG Vaishnav College.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp