Akshay’s unbeaten ton helps Rovers secure win

Vijay CC,  Grand Slam, Jolly Rovers CC and Nelson SC made it to the semifinals which will be played on Tuesday.

Published: 27th September 2021 09:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th September 2021 09:59 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

CHENNAI:  Akshay Wadekar’s unbeaten century (108 n.o) paved the way for Jolly Rovers to beat MRF-Globe Trotters by 162 runs and top Group B with 20 points in the 16th VAP trophy limited overs tournament organised by TNCA at IIT-Chemplast grounds. 

Vijay CC,  Grand Slam, Jolly Rovers CC and Nelson SC made it to the semifinals which will be played on Tuesday.

Brief scores: Group A: At IC-Guru Nanak: MCC 180 in 45 ovs (Tushar Raheja 72, U Mukilesh 52 n.o., Bhargav Bhatt 3/27) lost to Vijay CC 181/5 in 42.3 ovs (S Lokeshwar 58, KB Arun Karthick 80, R Ganesh 3/29).  At SSN: Young Stars CC  vs  India Cements-UFCC (T Nagar) CC. (Due to overnight rain and wet outfield conditions, the match was called off). At Nelson-Wahe Guru: Nelson vs Swaraj. (Due to overnight rain and wet outfield, the match was called off). Group B: At CPT-IP: India Pistons 129 in 34.3 ovs (GS Samuvel Raj 3/31, S Radhakrishnan 3/12) lost to Grand Slam 133/3 in 32 ovs (R Kavin 41). At TI-Murugappa: MRC ‘A’ 241/8 in 50 ovs (M Affan Khader 63, R Sanjay Yadav 60) bt IOB 160 in 42.1 ovs (R Anirudh Seshadhri 41, S Swaminathan 3/41). At IIT-Chemplast: Jolly Rovers 336/6 in 49 ovs (M Kaushik Gandhi 92, B Indrajith 56, Akshay Wadkar 108 n.o) bt Globe Trotters 174 in 34.3 ovs (D Rahul 4/78). 

Double delight for Shahan
Agra’s Shahan Ali Mohsin, 17, notched a fine double in the MRF Formula 1600 category in the first round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship 2021 which concluded at the MMRT, here. Also achieving a double was Chennai’s Deepak Ravikumar (Performance Racing) in the super stock class of the saloon cars category, while defending champ Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) from Coimbatore and Hyderabad’s Anindith Reddy (Rayo Racing) split the honours in the Indian touring cars class.

Avanthika advances
Sai Avanthika of Tamil Nadu defeated Rachel Angela of Telangana 9-5 in a women’s match of the second qualifying round of the  Appasawmy AITA Open tennis tournament.

Results (Rd 2 Qualifiers): Men: Krishna Teja (TN) bt Siddesh M (TN) 9-4; Vishal P (TN) bt Reshikesh P (TN) 9-1; Vimalraj J (TN) bt Vigneshwaran (TN) 9-4; Keerthivassan S (TN) bt Pranav S (TN) 9-1; Fardeen M (WB) bt Wyatt O (WB) 9-7. 

Women: Sai Avanthika (TN) bt Rachel Angela (TS) 9-5; Lochana Shree (TN) bt Pragathi Prasad (KA) 9-7; Joell Nichole (TN) bt Rithika R (TN) 9-2; Vaishnavi V (TN) bt Anjali S (TN) 9-2.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp