Suresh’s unbeaten 80 powers Coimbatore

J Suresh Kumar’s unbeaten 80 helped Coimbatore to defeat Thiruvallur by five wickets in the T20 semifinals of the TNCA inter-districts tournament for SS Rajan trophy.

Published: 14th August 2022 07:24 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th August 2022 07:24 AM   |  A+A-

Cricket Ball

Image used for representational purpose only. (Photo | AP)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: J Suresh Kumar’s unbeaten 80 helped Coimbatore to defeat Thiruvallur by five wickets in the T20 semifinals of the TNCA inter-districts tournament for SS Rajan trophy.

Brief scores: Semifinals: Thiruvallur 151 in 19 ovs (Sudhan Sanjeevi Kandepan 53, S Mohan Prasath 3/17, A Karuppusamy 3/21) lost to Coimbatore 152/5 in 19.1 ovs (S Sujay 33, J Suresh Kumar 80 n.o, V Aakash 3/20). Dindigul 171/6 in 20 ovs (K Aashiq 77, K Muruganandham 60, M Rooban Raj 3/32) bt Salem 159/8 in 20 ovs (G Sujith 37, M Gopal 32).

Asvin stars for Kanyakumari

Riding on S Asvin Brinly’s 5 for 33, Kanyakumari vanquished Tirupattur by 50 runs in the TNCA inter-districts Under-19 tournament.

Brief scores: Kanyakumari 264 in 50 ovs (KS Navaneeth 56, S Rohan 86, I Selvin Sam 33, G Mohamed Wasif 3/38, N Jawed Ahmed 3/41) bt Tirupattur 214 in 48.2 ovs (B Adhi Kesavan 111, S Asvin Brinly 5/33). Thiruvallur 290/5 in 50 ovs (N Gowri Shankar 135, Kiran Karthikeyan 76, Paravinth Kumar 3/20) bt Kallakuruchi 145 in 47.3 ovs (M Vinoth 47, G Shailendar 3/11). Ranipet 332/6 in 50 ovs (A Athique Rahman 142, V Hari Ragavendra 102 n.o.) bt Pudukottai 110 in 30.2 ovs (M Vishnu 3/20). Tiruchirapalli 270/9 in 50 ovs (B Swadesh 134, TT Kishore 40, KS Barath Rithvik 58, P Jaya Prathap 3/52) bt Dharmapuri 148 in 29.1 ovs (R Dhanush 80). Chengalpattu 219 in 49.4 ovs (R Surya 60) bt Dindigul 185 in 37.5 ovs (G Sanjay Venkateshwar 68 n.o., K Sameer Khan 4/38). Kancheepuram 321/7 in 50 ovs (AK Rajagopalan 31, N Narendra Nigamn 106, M Abhiseck 131, S Arasu 3/59) bt Perambalur 88 in 20 ovs.

Naveen shines
All-round display by G Naveen Kumar (71; 5/23) paved the way for Classic CC to hammer Thiruthani CC by 94 runs in a first division match of the TNCA -Thiruvallur DCA league.

Brief scores: I Division: Classic CC 149 in 32.3 ovs (G Naveen Kumar 71, K Mathan 5/52, C Manikandan 3/36) bt Thiruthani CC 55 in 20.5 ovs (G Naveen Kumar 5/23, AC Kasi Vignesh 3/11).

Vamika advances

 Vamika Sharma beat Kashish Kant 9-5 in the girls’ U-18 qualifying round of the 29th national junior Under-18 clay court tennis championship organised by TNTA held at SDAT hockey stadium, Egmore, Chennai.

Preyesh storms into quarters

Suresh Raj Preyesh of RTTHPC blanked Pranav Janakiraman of SSHI 11-3, 11-3, 11-4 in the boys’ U-19 pre-quarterfinals of thestate ranking table tennis meet.
Results: U-19 Boys: Pre-quarterfinals: G Varun (RTTHPC) bt M Sudharshan (Salem) 3-1; K Umesh (RTTHPC) bt Anirudh Balaji (RTTHPC) 3-1; Suresh Raj Preyesh (RTTHPC) bt Pranav Janakiraman (SSHI) 3-0.

Abhishek crowned champion

Abhishek Dhudasiya defeated Akramullah Baig (353-351) in the finals of the 9th Tamil Nadu State Tenpin Bowling Championship which concluded at LetsBowl, Thoraipakkam. In the finals, Akram finished the first game trailing Abhishek (207-191) by 16 pins. In Game 2, Akram, who needed to score a double in the last frame, missed it by a whisker and ended up finishing Game 2 (146-160) and eventually losing the two game pinfall by a narrow two pins.

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp