T20 World Cup final: India to bat first against South Africa

It is bright and sunny in Barbados despite the tropical storm warning
Captain Rohit Sharma and Aiden Markram during the toss
Captain Rohit Sharma and Aiden Markram during the toss

CHENNAI: India has won the toss and has opted to bat first against South Africa in the final of the T20 World Cup at the West Indies.

''We're going to bat first, it looks like a good pitch. We've played one game here, and the scores have been really good. Just about understanding individual roles, I know it's a big occasion but it's important to remain calm and play it like it's another international game against a good team. South Africa has played some good cricket but so have we. It's going to be a really good game between two quality teams. Different individuals have stepped up at different times and that's what we're looking forward to today as well. Same team,'' said Rohit Sharma after the toss.

Captain Rohit Sharma and Aiden Markram during the toss
India, South Africa set for historic T20 World Cup final showdown

Aiden Markram too wanted to bat first. ''Would've batted first as well, looks dry. But we get the first crack with the ball so hopefully we can do well. At times we haven't been at our best but we've still managed to win and we take confidence from that. Perfect isn't possible but we want to be as close as possible to that. There's absolutely no pressure on us, we've never been in a final and we just want to enjoy it and be at our best. Same team for us,'' said Aiden Markram, South Africa captain.

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Tristan Stubbs, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Related Stories

No stories found.

The New Indian Express