MLAs’ resignations: HC not to intervene

Published: 24th July 2012 11:17 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th July 2012 11:17 AM   |  A+A-

A division bench of the High Court comprising justices V Eswaraiah and N Ravi Shankar on Monday refused to entertain a plea seeking a direction to the Assembly speaker not to accept the resignations of Congress MLAs Venkata Sujaya Krishna Ranga Rao of Bobbili and AK Srinivas alias Alla Nani of Eluru.

Both the MLAs resigned on June 4 pledging their loyalty to YSR Congress president and Kadapa MP YS Jagan Mohan Reddy who is currently lodged in the Chanchalguda jail.

B Appa Rao, a local advocate, told the court that he filed a petition before the speaker with a request to frame rules to avert frequent byelections which have been arousing unwarranted resignation of MLAs.

The bench pointed out that there were already rules to empower the speaker either to accept or reject resignations and it was purely within the domain of the speaker and that the court cannot intervene in it.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp