High-level meet to chalk out plans for energy conservation

Published: 21st January 2013 09:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st January 2013 09:58 AM   |  A+A-

Chief secretary Minnie Mathew, also the chairperson of State Energy Conservation Mission (SECM) will conduct a high-level meet on energy conservation and energy efficiency on January 22.

Principal secretaries’ are likely to make presentations on the steps to be taken in their respective departments to achieve maximum savings as per the potentiality.

The chief secretary recently directed the officials to prevent usage of ACs by ineligible officers. She suggested all the officials to use ceiling fans and air coolers instead of air conditioners to the maximum extent possible in the ensuing summer.

In case of need, she further directed officials to operate ACs at 24 degrees and above depending upon the climatic conditions in order to reduce AC consumption in the various government offices.

Energy officials said using one air conditioner of 1.5 ton capacity for eight hours a day would consume 300 units of power in a month.  With the same energy 30 fans can be used, as one ceiling fan used for eight hours per day will consume only 10 units in a month.  It means consumption of one AC unit is equivalent to that of 30 fans.

An air cooler (250 W) used for eight hours a day it will consume 60 units of power in a month. Thus, consumption of one AC unit is equivalent to that of 5 air coolers, the officials said.

The state government also directed power utilities to work out an action plan for introducing pre-paid meters in the government offices as a pilot project for regularly monitoring the consumption patterns so as to avoid the wastage of energy and insisted upon making energy audit must for all government departments.

Meanwhile, the forum for better living, an NGO organisation, Warangal has appreciated and thanked SECM for the efforts being made towards bringing awareness among the public about energy conservation and its implementation.

Principal secretaries M Sahoo (Energy), Busi Sambob (municipal administration), Anil C Punith (agriculture), Pradeep Chandra (industries), V Nagi reddy (panchayat raj) and Transco MD Hiralal Samaria and others will attend the meeting.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp