Eight Zones Mooted in Capital Region Police Commissionerate

Published: 04th April 2015 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th April 2015 05:03 AM   |  A+A-

VIJAYAWADA:Proposals for setting up of the police commissionerate in the new capital region with eight zones have been sent to the state government, Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA) commissioner N Srikanth has said.

Addressing a review meeting with police and revenue department higher officials from Krishna, Guntur and West Godavari districts here Friday, he said at present there are 21 mandals, which are partially under CRDA jurisdiction and proposals have been made to the government to bring those mandals totally under CRDA.

He said by such a measure, the jurisdiction of both CRDA and the proposed police commissionerate for the capital region will be one and the same. CRDA has jurisdiction over 7,500 sqkm area spread across three districts and will have 60 lakh population. 

Vijayawada city police commissioner AB Venkateswara Rao said for administrative convenience, every zone in the proposed police commissionerate should have one ACP cadre officer and they should have powers over maintenance of law and order in their zone.CRDA commissioner N Srikanth, police commissioner AB Venkateswara Rao, district collector Babu A and Guntur district joint collector Ch Sridhar opined that Achampet, Krosuru, Sattenapalle, Phirangipuram, Edlapadu, Ponnuru and Battiprolu mandals in Guntur district, Mopidevi, Challapalli, Ghantasala, Muvva, Pamarru, Gudivada, Nandigama, Bapulapadu, Nuziveedu, Mylavaram, Penuganchiprolu, Jaggaiahpet, Vatsavaya mandals should be brought under CRDA.

Eluru Range DIG Hari Kumar, Krishna district SP Vijaya Kumar, DCP Ashok Kumar, Guntur Urban SP Tripathi and Rural SP Narayana Naik were present.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp