Newly-elected MLCs of Telangana, AP Take Oath

Published: 31st March 2015 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st March 2015 03:56 AM   |  A+A-

HYDERABAD: Six newly-elected MLCs, two from Telangana and four from Andhra Pradesh, were administered oath of office by the respective chairmen of the two Legislative Councils here on Monday.

Palla Rajeshwar Reddy (TRS) and N. Ramchander Rao (BJP), representing the Graduate Constituencies of Nalgonda-Khammam-Warangal and Hyderabad-Ranga Reddy-Mahabubnagar, respectively were administered oath of office by Telangana Council chairman K Swamy Goud in his office.

After taking oath, Ramachander Rao paid tributes at the Martyr’s Memorial opposite the Assembly building.

Meanwhile, AP Council chairman A.Chakrapani administered the oath office to VVV Chowdary and Gummadi Sandhya Rani (both  TDP under MLAs’ quota), P Subhash Chandra Bose and K Veerabhadraswamy (both YSRC  MLAs’ Quota) and AS Ramakrishna (Teachers’ Constituency) in his chambers.

There was chaos at the media point of AP Legislative Council for a while when the followers of newly-elected YSRC MLC K Veerabhadra Swamy and TDP MLC AS Ramakrishna tried to clash with each other.

It all began when Swamy came out after taking oath in the Council and was proceeding to address the media at the media point.

The followers of Swamy were shouting slogans in favour of their leader,  when followers of Ramakrishna too started shouting anti-YSRC slogans leading to a clash between the two groups. However, swift intervention by the police brought the situation under control and untoward incident was averted.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp