Five policemen from AP get Union home minister’s medal

A total of 151 police personnel, including 28 women officers, from across the country were selected for the medal.

Published: 14th August 2022 05:19 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th August 2022 05:19 AM   |  A+A-


Express Illustrations.

By Express News Service

VIJAYAWADA:  Five police officials from Andhra Pradesh have been selected for ‘Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation’ for the year 2022. The Home Ministry released the list of awardees on Friday. A total of 151 police personnel, including 28 women officers, from across the country were selected for the medal.

Two officers from Vijayawada city Commissioner’s Task Force (CTF) — Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police Kolli Srinivasa Rao and former Penamalur Inspector Mutyala Satyanarayana — and Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) B Seetharamaiah, inspector Kannuju Vasu and Sub-inspector Khadar Basha Shaik got the medal  for exhibiting high professional standards and investigation skills in solving crucial and critical cases.

The  medal was constituted in 2018 with an objective to promote high professional standards in investigation of crime and recognise such excellence in probe. The task force ADCP Kolli Srinivas Rao (investigation officer) and former Penamalur inspector M Satyanarayana were selected for the award for arresting a gang, who killed six persons in five incidents. The investigation into the sensational case initially started in connection with an ATM theft case reported in Penamalur police station and it led to the arrest of the five accused.

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp