61 Jana Sena activists get bail, nine remanded

However, nine leaders were remanded for 14 days.

Published: 18th October 2022 04:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th October 2022 04:06 AM   |  A+A-

Court Hammer, judgement, order, Gavel

Image used for representational purpose only. (File Photo)

By Express News Service

VISAKHAPATNAM: In a major relief, as many as 61 of 70 Jana Sena leaders and workers who were arrested in connection with the attack on ministers at the airport, were granted bail by the seventh metropolitan magistrate. Sections filed in the cases against them were altered as Section 326 instead of original Section 307 of the IPC.

However, nine leaders were remanded for 14 days. They were produced before the magistrate after midnight on Saturday. Jana Sena leaders who were sent to remand up to October 28, include Kona Tata Rao, Sundarapu Vijaya Kumar, Panchakarla Sandeep, Kolluri Rupa, Peetala Murthy Yadav, Chintapalli Srinu, Bogi Srinivas Patnaik, Rayapureddi Krishna and PVSSN Raju. They were later shifted to Visakhapatnam Central Jail.

Jana Sena


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp