Legislature’s 60th Anniversary fete

Published: 13th June 2012 12:36 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th June 2012 12:36 PM   |  A+A-

The state government has decided to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Karnataka Legislature on June 18, Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah said here on Tuesday.

Addressing the media after a meeting with Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, floor leaders of all the parties in the Legislative Assembly, Bopaiah described the occasion as an important milestone in the history of the state Legislature.

Listing out the programmes planned for the occasion, the Speaker said that a special function will be organised in the Assembly hall, which the Governor will preside over and former Supreme Court Chief Justice M N Venkatachalaiah will deliver a keynote address. Three living members of the first state Legislature - Madappa U M (Chamarajanagar), Mulka Govinda Reddy (Chitradurga) and T G Thimmegowda (Tiptur) - will be feted on the occasion.

Also, a comemmorative souvenir highlighting the rich traditions of the Karnataka Legislature and its contribution to parliamentary democracy will be released.

An exhibition of rare photographs will be held on the day of celebration.

All sitting legislators, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members, former chief ministers and former Assembly Speakers will be invited for the event, he said.

Bopaiah said that the state government has extended all co-operation for the event.

Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister S Suresh Kumar, who was also present, said: “The event is being organised to draw inspiration from the elders who have made vital contributions for the development of the state.”

He pointed out that the joint session of the state Legislature was addressed by two Presidents, Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan and A P J Abdul Kalam; clippings of their speeches will be played.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp