Villagers Pour Out Woes, Shun Elections

Voters from three villages of Turuvekere taluk in Tumkur constituency and two villages in Sira taluk in Chitradurga constituency boycotted the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

Published: 18th April 2014 08:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 18th April 2014 09:06 AM   |  A+A-


Voters from three villages of Turuvekere taluk in Tumkur constituency and two villages in Sira taluk in Chitradurga constituency boycotted the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

They had earlier warned the district administration of their plans.

The polling stations at Dabbeghatta and Hallada Hosapalya in Turuvekere taluk recorded zero per cent polling. Only four voters of the 800 exercised their franchise at Biganenahalli polling station. The villagers also closed business establishments and staged a silent protest.

The surrounding polling stations at Lakshmidevarahalli, Hindumaranahalli and Gottigere also recorded poor voter turnout, sources said. The polling staff, however, remained till 6 pm at the deserted polling stations.

The villagers are demanding the implementation of the Hemavathy canal lift irrigation project as their farms are drying up. They alleged that MLA M T Krishnappa is not responding to their problems. Tahsildar S N Mare Gowda, confirming the boycott, said his three attempts to convince the voters went in vain.

In Sira taluk, the villagers of Halkur stayed away from poll booths, protesting the menace of flies due to an ill-managed poultry nearby.

Those at Gungurpete did not vote, demanding basic amenities, including proper supply of drinking water.

Overall, about 10,000 voters boycotted the elections at these places.

‘We Lack Amenities’

Voters in three booths refused to participate in the election in Chikballapur parliament constituency, protesting the “negligence” of elected representatives.

The voters in Kamala Nagar in Nelamangala Assembly segment, Kaganapalli in Bagepalli Assembly segment and Tekalahalli in Chikballapur Assembly segment abstained from voting though some officials and elected representatives tried to pacify them.  However, the 950-odd voters refused to listen to their appeals.

When some elected representatives visited Kaganapalli area, the residents showed them empty pots and alleged that their appeals to resolve the water crisis have fallen on deaf ears.

Villagers Seek All-season Roads

The villagers of Shirguni and Mushki at Sirsi Assembly constituency avoided the election in a protest against the lack of all-season roads in the region.

There were 141 voters in Shirguni and 229 in Mushki. When the villagers decided to boycott the polls three days ago, the Assistant Commissioner of Sirsi visited the villages and appealed to the residents to take part in the elections, but in vain.

V S Bhat, a resident of Shirguni, told Express that they are “fed up with the hollow promises of MLA Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri, MP Ananth Kumar Hegde and other representatives.”

“Buses from Sirsi ply to these villages only in two months of summer. The plight of villagers, especially children, women and elderly, is horrible,” he said.

Boycott in Periyapatna Taluk

Mysore: More than 100 voters at Dongri Garasia Colony near Bylakuppe in Periyapatna taluk in Mysore-Kodagu constituency stayed away from polls on Thursday.

They alleged that they have been neglected for the past one-and-a-half decade and no initiatives have been taken up for the development of the colony.

They did not change their decision despite Tahsildar SP Mohan’s efforts to convince them. 

In Nanjangud taluk, voters of Devarasanahalli boycotted the election over a similar problem.

But they started voting at 3.20 pm after Tahsildar Rajendra gave an assurance in writing about improving infrastructure in the village.

There are 986 voters in this village which comes under Chamarajnagar constituency.

Most are dependent on agriculture. They alleged that people’s representatives failed to repair Hullahalli canal and provide drinking water and houses for the needy. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp