Modi logs in, springs surprises

New GOvt Takes Shape 45 ministers sworn in with 15th PM

Published: 27th May 2014 07:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th May 2014 07:49 AM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: Raj-era grandeur marked Narendra Modi’s swearing-in on Monday as the new Prime Minister moved to the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan and President Pranab Mukherjee descended the lofty staircase to the sounds of bugles.

The shape of his Cabinet — downsized to 46 from Manmohan Singh’s jumbo 77—and an architecture of future diplomacy was on show as leaders of neighbouring countries took their place in the VIP gallery.

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Sri Lankan President Mahindra Rajapaksa, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai and Maldives President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom made the Modi government’s swearing-in the most-watched event in all of South Asia.

Setting the pecking order of the Cabinet, right after Modi, BJP chief and the second-in-command of the new dispensation Rajnath Singh took oath. Thereafter, it was predictable — Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, and Nitin Gadkari. The surprise picks among the full Cabinet ranks are Najma Heptullah, Smriti Irani and Uma Bharti — four women, including Swaraj. Incidentally, both the youngest and oldest members in the Cabinet also happens to be women — Smriti and Najma. Another unexpected name was that of D V Sadananda Gowda, who is likely to get the Railways portfolio.

In all, 23 Cabinet ministers, 10 Ministers of State with independent charge, including former Army Chief General V K Singh, and 12 MoS were sworn in.

Opposition leaders too were present at the ceremony, though notable absentees included Chief Ministers Siddaramaiah, J Jayalalithaa, Mamata Banerjee, Oommen Chandy and Naveen Patnaik.

Despite the gaps and absentees, the spectacular nature of the event and its deep significance ensured that it was widely watched on TV across the SAARC region, a fact confirmed by a stream of Twitter responses from beyond the boundaries.  This aspect took the event to a status beyond that of a mere spectacle or grand formality to an actual, proactive move on the chessboard.

Ahead of the ceremony, Modi visited Rajghat and paid homage to Mahatma Gandhi.

The one-on-one meeting between Modi and Sharif on Tuesday is being seen as an occasion that could be a tone-setter, both in atmospherics and content. Modi has hit the ground running. Now, work begins at 8 am on Tuesday. 

Almost exactly at the time Modi took oath to serve every citizen without bias or partisanship, his PMO website flashed a message: “Let us script a glorious future for India…” people have “delivered a mandate for development, good governance and stability…. Let us dream of a strong, developed and inclusive India.”

Also among the gallery of spectators were corporate magnates like Mukesh Ambani and family, Gautam Adani, Anil Ambani, the Mittals, Kumarmangalam Birla, Sashi Ruia, V N Dhoot and Ashok Hinduja - the first two being seen as particularly crucial supporters of Narendra Modi campaign juggernaut.

Also present were celebrities like Bollywood actor Salman Khan, cricketers past and present - M S Dhoni and Sunil Gavaskar - and spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

By inviting his Pakistani counterpart Nawaz Sharif, in particular, Modi once again displayed his capacity to parlay spectacle into a real event.

 Sharif had, by all accounts, to fight off some strong reservations within the Pakistani establishment, notably among elements of the “deep state” that includes the Rawalpindi Army HQ and the ISI, to take up Modi’s offer.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp