KSP Meet Fails to Zero in on Venue for Sammelana

Published: 27th October 2014 06:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th October 2014 06:01 AM   |  A+A-

HAVERI: A core committee meeting of the Kannada Sahitya Parishat (KSP) held at Motebennur village in Byadgi taluk on Sunday failed to take a decision on the venue of the 81st Akhila Bharata Kannada Sahitya Sammelana.

The meeting was chaired by KSP state president Pundalika Halambi. While the KSP has decided to hold the Sammelana in Haveri district, there is stiff competition between two groups to hold it in Haveri or Ranebennur.

The core committee meeting convened to resolve the impasse was like a general body meeting of a civic body witnessing uproarious scenes and chaos.

Halambi was forced to defer the meeting twice before ending it abruptly without deciding on the venue. Litterateurs and enthusiasts tried to storm the dais making it impossible to continue the proceedings.

The trouble started during the introductory speech of Halambi. He said the KSP had decided during the Madikeri Sammelana to hold the next Sammelana at Ranebennur in Haveri district.

Taking exception to the statement, many writers and enthusiasts rushed to the dais. Perturbed by this unruly behaviour, Halambi deferred the meet for half-an-hour.

When the meet resumed amid tight police security, he sought cooperation from all quarters to hold the meet successfully in the district. To conduct the literary meet, KSP needs `6 crore and the state government is expected to give `2 crore, he said.

He stressed the need to mobilise funds and make arrangements for accommodation and food for delegates, invitees and literary enthusiasts.

 Around 5 to 6 lakh people expected to take part in the literary meet to be held in February 2015.

When Halambi invited writers of the district and others to express their views, it was a smooth affair until former MLA B C Patil, former KSP district president Maruthi Shidlapur and former secretary Nagraj Dymankoppa spoke.

Ruckus started again when some others tried to express their views. This forced Halambi to defer the meeting again.

Kannada Sahitya Parishat district president G B Masanagi, former state speaker B G Banakar, writer and former minister B T Lalita Nayak, writers Korgal Virupakashappa, Satish Kulkarni, Gangadhar Nandi, KSP taluk presidents and over a 1,000 literary enthusiasts attended the meet.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp