Congress and JD(S) decide on 2:1 power-sharing formula

The tussle over sharing the spoils of power in various boards and corporations between the coalition partners has finally been resolved.

Published: 04th July 2018 04:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th July 2018 09:58 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

BENGALURU: The tussle over sharing the spoils of power in various boards and corporations between the coalition partners has finally been resolved. The list of 30 of these plum posts is ready for allocation in the ratio of 2:1 for Congress and JD(S), respectively in accordance with the power-sharing formula between the two parties.

Congress MLAs have reason to be happy as the party leaders have succeeded in getting some of the most sought-after boards and corporations. Among the prominent boards and corporations, Congress has bagged Karnataka State Slum Development Board, Karnataka Forest Industrial Corporation, Bangalore Development Corporation (BDA), Bangalore Water Supply and Sewage Board (BWSSB), Karnataka Rural Infrastructure Development Corporation, Devaraj Urs Development Corporation, Ambedkar Development Board, Valmiki Development Corporation, Wakf Board, Minorities Development Corporation and Hutti Gold Mines Ltd.

Among the 10 government bodies that have gone the JD(S) way are BMTC, KSRTC, Karnataka State Highways Development Corporation, Karnataka Jungle Lodges Corporation, Karnataka Silk Industries Development Corporation, Karnataka Handloom Development Corporation and Karnataka Small Scale Industries Development Corporation.

A senior Congress minister told The New Indian Express, “The heads of these boards and corporations will be appointed after the Budget session of the legislature. Only legislators of the two parties who were serious contenders for ministerial berths will be considered for these appointments. Non-legislators will be considered in the later round of appointments.”

The leadership in both the parties are facing intense lobbying for the post of chairpersons of these bodies.
Karnataka Slum Development Corporation and BDA top the list and Congress MLAs S T Somashekar, Byrathi Basavaraj and M T B Nagaraj are among the frontrunners gunning for these two entities.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp