Karnataka polls: 42 out of 58 candidates lost deposit in Dakshina Kannada district

Except BJP and Congress candidates, all others who contested in the eight assembly segments have lost their deposit. 

Published: 19th May 2018 04:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th May 2018 04:41 AM   |  A+A-

Express News Service

MANGALURU: Over 80 percent of the candidates who contested the assembly election in Dakshina Kannada district have lost deposit. Except BJP and Congress candidates, all others who contested in the eight assembly segments have lost their deposit. 

While the candidates of two national parties managed to net more than 95 percent of the total 17.11 lakh votes polled in the district, the others had to scramble for less than 5 percent votes. Worse, only three non-BJP and non-Congress candidates  crossed the 2,000-mark. The others are in the 1,000  club - Sumathi Hegde,  JD(S) candidate from Belthangady, polled 1,612 votes, while  Jeevan  Krishna Shetty (Moodbidri, JD-S)  polled 1,838 votes, Balakrishna  Poojary (Bantwal, JD-S) polled 713, Raghu (Sullia, BSP candidate) polled 1,472,  IC Kailas Gowda (Puttur-JDS) polled 1,424. All CPI (M) and JD(S) candidates failed to make any impact in the district in any of the constituencies. 

In 2013, JD(S) had garnered over 20,000 votes in Moodbidri. While the vote shares of these candidates was miserably low, hovering around 1 percent , just one candidate  district managed to touch 2.47 percent, the highest from among those with the third highest vote percentage in their respective constituencies - K Ashraf, JD(S) candidate from Mangaluru polled 3,682 votes.  While, Sunil Bajal (Mangaluru South CPI-M), managed 2,329 votes.

Another shining star in the third highest category in the district is the Mangaluru North candidate for CPI(M) Muneer Katipalla who secured 1.42 percent  of the votes. Despite the party not fielding a candidate in the constituency in the past three elections, Muneer garnered support without a predecessor. In Bantwal, NOTA was voted the third highest with a 0.52 vote percentage. This put the MEP, Lok Awaz and an independant candidate behind it, with its 946 votes out of 1,81,609. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp