18 IPS officers transferred, Bengaluru gets 5 new DCPs

The Karnataka government transferred 18 IPS officers on Monday. Bengaluru got new Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) for five divisions.

Published: 04th August 2020 04:54 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th August 2020 04:54 AM   |  A+A-


For representational purposes (Express Illustrations)

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: The Karnataka government transferred 18 IPS officers on Monday. Bengaluru got new Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) for five divisions. Umesh Kumar, who was the Principal Secretary to Government (PCAS), Home Department, has been posted as the Additional Director General of Police (ADGP), CID. The position was vacant following the transfer of ADGP B Dayananda. Kumar has been replaced by Inspector-General of police (IGP) Roopa D, who was in the Railways, as Secretary to Government (PCAS), Home department.

Five DCPs of Bengaluru were transferred. DCP (North) N Shashi Kumar and SP (Wireless) Dharmender Kumar Meena were interchanged, while DCP (South) Rohini Katoch Sepat and DCP (West) B Ramesh were transferred to the CID. DCP (Central) Chetan Singh Rathor was transferred without posting, while it is said he was sent on Central deputation, and he is replaced by DCP (Whitefield) MN Anucheth. D Devaraja, who was in CID has replaced Anucheth.

Harish Pandey and Sanjeev M Patil, who were SPs in Intelligence, have been posted as DCPs of South and West divisions, respectively. Besides, Kalaburagi SP Iada Martin Marbaniang has been posted as SP, Anti-Naxal Force in Karkala. He is replaced by AIGP (Crimes) Simi Mariam George. CID SP Nikam Prakash Amrit is posted as Raichur SP replacing CB Vedamurthy, who is transferred as SP (Intelligence).

Ilakkiya Karunagaran, DCP (VVIP Security) in Bengaluru city, is posted as SP of KFG, replacing Mohammed Sujeetha, who is posted as DCP (CAR-HQ) in Bengaluru. Meanwhile, the government cancelled the order issued on June 26, transferring Suman D Pennekar and the officer has been posted as Deputy Director, Karnataka Police Academy in Mysuru replacing Sudheer Kumar Reddy CH.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp