Search committee formed to select new VC for Visvesvaraya Technological University

With the term of the current Vice Chancellor of VTU set to end on September 30, sources said, the Raj Bhavan will announce the name of new VC by then.

Published: 13th August 2022 10:15 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th August 2022 10:15 AM   |  A+A-

Visvesvaraya Technological University

Visvesvaraya Technological University

Express News Service

BELAGAVI: A four-member search committee has been formed to select the new Vice Chancellor (VC) for Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU). The committee will shortlist three probable candidates for the top post and submit the same to Governor Thawarchand Gehlot who will take the final call.

With the term of the current Vice Chancellor of VTU set to end on September 30, sources said, the Raj Bhavan will announce the name of new VC by then. The Governor's Secretariat issued a notification on August 8, inviting applications from distinguished academicians for the post of VTU VC.

As per the notification, the aspirants must be possessing a Master Degree in Engineering and PhD in the mode prescribed from time to time by the UGC. They must also have a minimum of 10 years of experience as professor in a university or ten years of experience in a reputed research or academic administrative institution. The last date for submission of the application will be August 29.

The four-member search committee is expected to shortlist three distinguished academicians with rich experience and contributions in the field of engineering.

The applicants facing allegations of indulging in controversies and cases are unlikely to be considered. "The search committee reserves all the rights to accept or reject any application,'' sources said.

Sources said, Prof Sunil Kumar, Vice Chancellor of Madhya Pradesh Technical University is likely to be the chairman of the four-member VC Search Committee with other members being M S Shivakumar, former Registrar of VTU, Jitendra Nayak, VTU Executive Council Member, Kripashankar, VTU Academic Senate member. The committee will hold meetings in September to verify and shortlist three candidates.

Since its inception in Belagavi, VTU has had five Vice Chancellors. Dr S Rajashekharaiah was the founder of VC who was succeeded by Dr K Balaveera Reddy. The then Governor had extended the term of Reddy for the second term of three years (total six years).

The Raj Bhavan had constituted a search committee before extending the term of Reddy. Later, Prof H P Khincha replaced Reddy and served a three-year term as VC. In the year 2000, Dr H Maheshappa was appointed as VC, who went on to serve two terms of three years each before being succeeded by Prof Karisiddappa.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp