Kamal elected FEFKA president

Published: 14th November 2012 10:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th November 2012 10:59 AM   |  A+A-

Veteran director Kamal has been elected the president of the director’s union of Film Employees Federation of Kerala (FEFKA) in the first ever election conducted in its four year history. Senior director Siby Malayil is the general secretary while Meccartin has been elected the treasurer. The results of the election which stared at 2 pm on Monday were announced here by 3 am on Tuesday.

 G S Vijayan and Jayaraj are the new vice-presidents and G Marthandan and Shajoon Kariyal are the joint-secretaries. In a style similar to his super hit films, director Siddique, emerged as the most popular in the election as he could garner the maximum number of votes. He polled 301 of the 357 votes polled to elect the the 21-member executive committee.

 Shaji Kailas, Jose Thomas, Suresh Unnithan, Vinod Vijayan, Ashiq Abu, Kareem, Fazil Kattunkal, Santhivila Dinesh, Vaisakh, Madhu Kaithapram, Sohan Seenu Lal, Salam Palappetty and Jayakumar P K are the other executive committee members. Of the 20 members contested against the official panel, K Madhu, who contested as the general secretary got 108 votes while Lenin Rajendran, the president candidate got 70 votes while Dr Biju got 98 votes as the  treasurer candidate. Babu Thiruvalla polled the maximum in this faction with 135 votes while Thampi Kannanthnam who contested as president as independent got 29 votes.

Nine votes became invalid. 30 postal ballots where issued to the members.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp