8 CPM men get jail for abducting panchayat VP

Published: 21st September 2012 09:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st September 2012 09:58 AM   |  A+A-

Eight CPM activists, including party district secretariat member P S  Janardhanan, the accused in the case of alleged abduction of Poothadi grama panchayat vice-president V N Seseendran, 53, were handed two years of imprisonment and a fine of Rs 2,000 by the Bathery Magistrate Court on Thursday.

Of the 12 accused, three were found not guilty and the verdict is pending on the role of another accused, Mahesh, who is absconding.

CPM area committee member T R Ravi, former Poothadi grama panchayat member A V Jayan,  George, Baby, Sunil John, Shinu and Sunil Khan were those sentenced by the court. Later, all of them were released on bail.

CPM Pulpally area secretary T B Suresh, Congress (S) leader P K Babu and Jeevan were found not guilty.

The incident took place on April 20, 2009 when the Poothadi grama panchayat ruled by the LDF was to take up a non-confidence motion against the president.

A three-member gang abducted Saseendran ahead of the non-confidence motion moved by the opposition Congress.

The conspirators wanted Saseendran, who had joined the Congress just a couple of days ago before the incident, not to participate in the discussion of the motion. Subsequently, the motion was adjourned for lack of quorum when it came up for discussion on April 27.

Saseendran was released on the same day evening at Koduvally in Kozhikode district, and the next day, he appeared before the High Court.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp