Councillors told to appear before Election Commission

Published: 23rd September 2012 11:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd September 2012 11:12 AM   |  A+A-

Five members of the Eloor municipal council have been directed to appear before the State Election Commission on October 10, based on a petition filed by former municipal chairperson Lissy George challenging the  no-confidence motion against her which led her   to quit office.

The no-confidence motion against the former municipal chairperson was moved by M S Shibu,  P K Suresh, P V  Subash, S Shaji and  Girija Babu on September 17. Of the 31 members in the council, 17  had voted in favour of the motion. The Regional Joint Director of Urban Affairs, who presided over the procedure, then declared the seat of the chairperson to be vacant.

In the petition filed through Advocate Sivan Madathil, it has been alleged that the Regional Joint Director is not vested with the power to declare the result of the motion before the procedure is complete. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp