Chalachithra Academy Reconstituted

Published: 30th August 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th August 2014 02:17 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Ending the uncertainty over a couple of recent resignations, the government has reconstituted the State Chalachithra Academy with filmmaker Rajeev Nath as new chairman.

A 12-member Advisory Council under Adoor Gopalakrishnan has also been formed for the 19th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) to be held in December.

A decision has been taken to form a 17-member general council for the Academy with Joshy Mathew as vice-chairman in addition to nominating four members to the executive committee. In an official statement issued here on Friday, Cinema Minister Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishanan informed that the government had also decided to bring in Indu Srikant of Delhi as Programme Director and Oindrilla Hazra Pratapan from Kolkata as Festival Deputy Director for IFFK.

As per the decision taken, the Chalachithra Academy general council will consist of Rajeev Nath (chairman), Joshy Mathew (vice-chairman) and members G K Pillai, Soorya Krishnamoorthy, Aryadan Shoukath, Suresh, Sibi Malayil, M Chandraprakash, G S Vijayan, Ramachandra Babu, P V Gangadharan, M Renjith, Prem Prakash, Sreekumara Varma, Maniyanpilla Raju, Girija Sethunath and Saraswathy Nagarajan. In addition to the chairman and vice-chairman, Aryadan Shoukath and Ramachandra Babu have been nominated to the executive committee.

Adoor Goapalakrishnan will be the chairman and Rajeev Nath convener of the 12-member advisory council for the IFFK to be held here from December 12 to 19, 2014. Others in the council are Shaji N Karun, Madhu, M K Parameswaran, George Mathew, Krishnanunni, G Sekharan Nair, Ranji Kuriakose, Subair, Ajith and M Ajith Kumar.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp