BDJS to Contest in 37 Seats

Published: 22nd March 2016 06:02 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd March 2016 06:02 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:  Vellapally Natesan’s Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) will contest in 37 seats in the Assembly elections scheduled for May 16. The seats were finalised after marathon talks with the state leadership of the BJP here on Monday.

BDJS Seats

BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan said the BJP and BDJS will contest the elections unitedly with total faith in each other.

The seats set aside for BDJS are as follows: Vamanapuram, Varkala, Kovalam, Kollam, Eravipuram, Karunagapally, Kunnathur, Thiruvalla, Ranni, Kayamkulam, Kuttanad, Cherthala, Aroor, Vaikom, Poonjar, Ettumanoor, Idukki, Thodupuzha, Udumbanchola, Paravoor, Kalamassery, Kunnathunad, Vypeen Kothamangalam, Kaipamangalam, Kodungalloor, Nattika, Chalakkudi, Ollur, Shornur, Mannarkad, Nilambur, Kozhikode South, Thiruvambadi, Perambra, Peravoor, Kanhangad.

‘Seat-Sharing Talks to End by March 26’

Kummanam Rajasekharan said that seat-sharing talks with NDA allies will be completed by March 26 and the official announcement regarding seats and candidates would be made on March 27. In the first week of April, a state-level convention of leaders of all NDA factions will be held either in Ernakulam or Thrissur.

Suresh Gopi’s Candidature

No decision has been taken on the candidature of actor Suresh Gopi, Kummanam Rajasekharan said.

The BJP had earlier announced a preliminary list of 22 BJP candidates. The remaining seats in which the BJP will contest will be decided after talks with the NDA allies, he said.

Talks were on with the P C Thomas’s Kerala Congress, the Rajan Babu faction of JSS and T S John’s Kerala Congress (Secular), he added.

V Muraleedharan, P K Krishnadas, M T Ramesh and other senior BJP leaders were present at the meeting. The BDJS was represented by its president Thushar Vellapally and other leaders.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp