Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn in Kerala's CM at 4:00 pm today

Central Stadium at the heart of Thiruvananthapuram will witness the swearing-in ceremony of its new CM

Published: 25th May 2016 03:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th May 2016 03:16 PM   |  A+A-

Pinarayi EPS

Chief Minister-designate Pinarayi Vijayan handing over the list of ministers to Governor P Sathasivam at Raj Bhavam on Wednesday morning (Manu R Mavelil | EPS)

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Central Stadium at the heart of the capital city will witness the swearing-in ceremony of its new Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan in a colourful function scheduled to begin at 4 pm on Wednesday. The function is expected to witness huge articipation of the public as well as top political leaders and celebrities as Thiruvananthapuram is all set to be painted in red.

Also Read: People have high hopes on new government: Pinarayi

Apart from Vijayan, 18 ministers -- 12 from CPM, four from CPI and one each from Janata Dal (S), Congress (S) and NCP -- will also be sworn-in at the stadium which can hold around 30,000 people. Additional screens are also set up outside the venue for those who cannot make it to the stadium.

Following the ceremony, the first Cabinet meeting will take place at around 6.30 pm. CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechurt, politburo member Prakash Karat and film actor Mammootty are among those who will be in attendance for the function. Earlier in the morning, the Chief Minister designate Vijayan visited Governor P Sathasivam at Raj Bhavan here and submitted a tentative list of members of the Cabinet.

Meanwhile, a green protocol will be implemented during the swearing-in ceremony of the LDF government, informed Kerala State Suchitwa Mission who have joined hands with the Thiruvananthapuram City Corporation. According to them, the event will be a zero-waste event to reduce the carbon footprint. A team of Suchitwa Mission volunteers have been deployed to ensure the protocol is maintained.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp