LDF finalises seat sharing among CPM, CPI; minor allies miffed

As expected the Left front finalised seat-sharing between the CPM and the CPI, ignoring protests by the minor allies.

Published: 09th March 2019 02:27 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th March 2019 02:34 AM   |  A+A-


CPI state secretary Kanam Rajendran with CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan (File Photo | Vincent Pulickal/EPS)

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:  As expected the Left front finalised seat-sharing between the CPM and the CPI, ignoring protests by the minor allies. The CPM walked away with 16 seats while the remaining four went to the CPI. The LDF will begin its election conventions from Sunday. A couple of Left allies, including JD(S) and LJD, were keen on getting one seat.

Both the JD (S) and LJD expressed their protest at the LDF state committee meet on Friday. Senior Left leaders, including Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, tried to mollify the allies. Both the parties finally agreed to the decision. The CPM taking away the seat that it contested last time, has not gone down well with the JD(S). Seat denial has created major resentment within the party and there were severe criticisms against the party leadership.

READ | LJD ex-MLA MK Premnath, others to join SP as party gets no seats from LDF

A section within the party was of the view JD(S) should field its own candidates. There are reports senior leader Jose Thettayil strongly expressed his resentment. However, JD(S) leader and Water Resources Minister K Krishnankutty said there are no issues within the front. The party’s protest was conveyed in the LDF meet. The party will stand with the LDF to oppose fascist forces. LDF convener A Vijayaraghavan told reporters that seat-sharing was finalised as a common decision and it was unanimous. “All parties will express interest to contest.

A common decision which was suitable for the current political situation was taken. The attempt is to unseat the Modi government,” he said. The LDF can win maximum seats in Kerala in the present political scenario, he added. The Parliament constituency- level conventions will be as follows: March 10 (Palakkad), March 11 (Kozhikode, Malappuram, Thrissur, Ernakulam, Alappuzha and Attingal), March 12 (Kasargod, Kannur, Vadakara, Alathur, Chalakkudy, Idukki, Kottayam, Pathanamthitta, Mavelikkara and Kollam), March 13 (Thiruvananthapuram) and March 14 (Wayanad and Ponnani).

READ | Kerala CPI(M) to go ahead with sitting MPs

Despite opposition from some corners, the CPM Ponnani Parliament constituency committee has again proposed the name of Nilambur MLA P V Anwar. The CPM state committee on Thursday was not able to come to a decision on the candidate for Ponnani. Following which the state secretariat assigned the
constituency committee to take a call. With the local leadership nominating Anwar’s name once again, he’s all set to be the Left candidate from Ponnani. Sources said he could be fielded as Left independent. The LDF meet approved the list of candidates for all 20 constituencies. An official announcement will be
made on Saturday.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp