Kerala Election Results: Stunning victory for LDF in Thrissur

As P Balachandran’s vote share increased, Congress leader Padmaja Venugopal came in second place.

Published: 03rd May 2021 05:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd May 2021 06:10 AM   |  A+A-

Photo | A Sanesh, EPS

Express News Service

THRISSUR: Thrissur, the cultural capital, witnessed a sweeping victory for LDF repeating the history of 2016 assembly elections. Except Chalakudy where Saneeshkumar Joseph of the Congress won, 12 out of 13 constituencies stood with LDF candidates, crushing the dreams of UDF and NDA. 

Thrissur was one key constituency that everyone looked at due to the presence of BJP’s star candidate, Suresh Gopi. Despite the stardom and BJP’s full-swing election campaign, Suresh Gopi was pushed to the third place. As P Balachandran’s vote share increased, Congress leader Padmaja Venugopal came in second place. Sitting MLA Anil Akkara in Wadakkanchery lost the seat to LDF’s Xavier Chittilappilly by 15,168 votes.

The victory of R Bindu, CPM leader in Irinjalakuda, also stands out after a tough fight against former vigilance chief Jacob Thomas and three-time MLA Thomas Unniyadan of the Kerala Congress Joseph faction. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp