Kerala Election Results: Amid landslide win, a few failures that shocked LDF

Though the controversy hasn’t affected the performance of the Left in coastal constituency, Mercykutty Amma faced defeat.

Published: 03rd May 2021 05:09 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd May 2021 06:09 AM   |  A+A-

J Mercykutty Amma

J Mercykutty Amma (Photo | Express)

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Even amid the big win, the LDF has its share of heart burns too. Failure of Minister J Mercykutty Amma prevented the front from the rare honour of cent per cent win for its ministers who had sought reelection. Mercykutty Amma was at the centre of the deep-sea fishing controversy which had rocked the front in the f ina l months o f the government.

Though the controversy hasn’t affected the performance of the Left in coastal constituency, Mercykutty Amma faced defeat. In Kundara, she got a strong opponent in P C Vidhnunadh who had worked overtime to win back the constituency after more than two decades. From the initial rounds, Vishnunadh led in all rounds of counting. The failure of Jose K Mani at Pala is another setback for the front. Jose’s party performed well and other major leader s romped home comfortably. But the chairman tasted defeat on his home turf which had been the unchallenged fortress of his father K M Mani till his death.

Jose K Mani had quit his Rajya Sabha seat when he left UDF. M V Sreyamskumar, president of another LDF constituent, LJD, was defeated in Kalpetta. Congress leader T Siddique won Kalpetta which was a sitting seat of LDF. Sreyamskumar is a Rajya Sabha member and can hold that post despite the defeat. Failure of young firebrand leader M Swaraj in Tripunithura was another shocker for the front.

Jaleel wins, but..

Former minister K T Jaleel faced a tough battle in his constituency, Tavanur. Though he managed to win by 2,564 votes, it is clear that controversies involving him have shrunk his vote base.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Krishnamoorthy T R

    Who is looser--(????)
    1 year ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp