Rajasree, Vinoy Thomas among Sahitya Akademi awardees

Vaikom Madhu won the I C Chacko Award while Ajay P Mangat was selected for the C B Kumar award. 

Published: 28th July 2022 06:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th July 2022 06:20 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

THRISSUR: The Kerala Sahitya Akademi awards for the year 2021, announced on Wednesday brought well deserved honours to a bunch of gifted writers in Malayalam while honouring the contributions of seniors. However, the biggest surprise was the award for autobiography. T J Joseph, a former Malayalam professor at Thodupuzha Newman College,  who fought his emotional trauma and scribbled his account of the incident in which a question framed for an internal examination infuriated the fringe elements through his memoir ‘Attupokatha Ormakal has been selected for the award. 

R Rajashree and Vinoy Thomas shared the honours in the novels category, while Anwar Ali bagged the award for his poem Mehboob Express. V M Devadas was selected for the award his short story Vazhi Kandupidikkunnavar.  Former Akademi president and writer Vaisakhan and author K P Shankaran have been selected for the Fellowship considering their lifetime contributions.The fellowship consists of `50,000 in cash, 2 sovereigns of gold, a citation and a memento. 

Former chief secretary K Jayakumar, Kadathanattu Narayanan, Janamma Kunjunni, Kaviyoor Rajagopalan, Geetha Krishnankutty and K A Jayaseelan were selected for lifetime achievement awards. The award consists of `30,000 in cash, a memento and a citation.

Pradeep Mundur bagged the award for theatre, N Ajayakumar for literary criticism, Gopakumar Cholayil for knowledge literature (Vainjanika Sahityam), M Kunhaman for autobiography, Venu for travelogue, Ayamanam John for translation, Raghunath Palery for children’s literature, and Ann Palee for comedy literature (Hasya Sahityam).  E V Ramakrishnan was selected for the Vilasini Award for the year 2018.

Vaikom Madhu won the I C Chacko Award while Ajay P Mangat was selected for the C B Kumar award. P R Harikumar won the K R Namboothiri Award. Kanaka Sree award goes to Prince John aka King Johns while Vivek Chandran won Geetha Hiranyan award. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp