RI for Five

Published: 01st October 2014 06:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st October 2014 06:04 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: A Cuttack court on Tuesday convicted five criminals and sentenced them to seven years of rigorous imprisonment after they were arrested by the Special Task Force (STF) of Crime Branch in July 2012.

They were handed out a punishment of seven years imprisonment and a fine of `10,000 under Section-307 (attempt to murder) of IPC by Second Additional District and Sessions Judge, Cuttack. Besides, Under Section-27 of the Arms Act, they were sentenced to three years jail and a fine of `3,000. The sentences run concurrently.On July 5, 2012, the five - Sanjay Kumar Das, Chittaranjan Das, Saroj Kumar Das, Prasanta Kumar Sahoo and Sk Ramjan intercepted one Srutikanta Das along Mahanadi bridge. Das, owner of a liquor shop, was returning home when they fired six rounds at him.

More from Odisha.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp