BJP to Rope in Central Leaders for Campaign

BJD intensifies campaign by taking out padyatra in Kantamal

Published: 06th October 2014 06:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 06th October 2014 06:07 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: The BJD has intensified its campaign for the Kandhamal by-poll with Ministers and legislators taking out padyatra and rally in Kantamal Assembly segment on Sunday.

There has been an enthusiastic response to the padyatras of the BJD in different parts of the constituency, said Pratap Keshari Deb, former minister and coordinator of the BJD candidate. Attempts by opposition political parties to paint the party’s candidate Pratyusha Rajeswari as an outsider will have no impact on the voters, he added.

Kantamal.JPGThe party will organise padyatras at major places in the constituency to highlight the achievements of the State Government, Deb said.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is likely to hit the campaign trail for two days from October 9. He is also expected to attend several public meetings as well as road-shows.

As many as 13 Ministers and several MLAs are camping in different parts of the constituency to campaign for the party candidate for October 15 by-poll.

Meanwhile, BJP and Congress have stepped up campaign by raising the issues of corruption in Naveen-led Government.

The BJP, on the other hand, received a shot in the arm with a large number of district and block-level BJD and Congress workers joining the party during the last one week.

Joining of Lambodar Kanhar, leader of the Kui Samaj Samanvaya Samiti, is likely to give a boost to the electioneering of BJP candidate. Kanhar is said to have a good influence over the Kui speaking people in the district. He had supported the BJD candidate in the 2014 Lok Sabha election and was also an aspirant for a ticket from the regional outfit this time.

BJP has lined up several Central and State leaders to campaign for the candidate. Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, Union Ministers Uma Bharati, Manoj Sinha and Sudarshan Bhagat, former Jharkhand chief minister Arjun Munda will also campaign in the by-poll. Besides, two Union Ministers from the State - Jual Oram and Dharmendra Pradhan - will also campaign extensively in the constituency. BJP has fielded former Kandhamal MP Rudramadhab Ray in the by-poll.

Congress has stationed senior leaders and party MLAs in all the seven Assembly segments in the Lok Sabha constituency to campaign for party candidate Abhimanyu Behera.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp