Mineral Corporation Starts Operation in Eight Districts

The first Board of Directors meeting discussed proposed action plan worth RS 818 cr

Published: 01st January 2015 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st January 2015 02:37 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: The Odisha Mineral Bearing Area Development Corporation (OMBADC), a special purpose vehicle (SPV) has commenced its operation in eight districts. The corporation was formed for undertaking developmental activities for inclusive growth in mineral-bearing areas of the State.

The first Board of Directors (BoD) meeting of the corporation held here on Tuesday discussed the proposed action plan worth Rs 818 crore. The major activities proposed under the action plan include improved social infrastructure, provision of drinking water, sanitation, irrigation and better health services.

Mineral Corporation.JPGLivelihood promotion, skill development for alternative livelihood and supplementary income, construction of roads and anganwadi centers, improvement of power supply infrastructure, development of sports, environmental sustainability and reduction of income disparity are the other activities to be taken up to improve the human development index of the people living in mining areas, official sources said.

The programmes will be coordinated and monitored through a district-level committee under the chairmanship of district Collector. The line departments, people’s representatives and NGO workers will be involved at the ground-level to ensure proper implementation of sanctioned projects.

Chairing the first BoD meeting, Chief Secretary GC Pati emphasised on inter-departmental coordination, involvement of local community and convergence of approved projects with ongoing programmes of the State.

The corporation will draw its funds from additional net present value (NPV) realised from mining leases. About 50 per cent of the NPV of Rs 2,563 crore will be utilised through the corporation. The State Government has provided Rs one lakh as token share capital.

In the first phase, it has been proposed to launch interventions in the eight districts of Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Jajpur, Koraput, Jharsuguda, Dhenkanal, Mayurbhanj and Angul as a major portion of the total additional NPV of Rs 1,661 crore has been realised from these districts.

Principal Chief Conservator of Forest JD Sharma is the Chief Executive of the corporation while Development Commissioner, Secretaries of Finance, Forest and Environment, Rural Development, Steel and Mines, PCCF (Wildlife) and Chief Wildlife Warden are BoD members.

The State Government formed the SPV in April following a Supreme Court directive to ensure inclusive growth of mineral-bearing areas.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp