Members of BMC Slum Panel Elected

Published: 09th May 2015 06:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2015 06:01 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: Seven members of Additional Standing Committee for Slum Settlement of Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) were elected on Friday.

The newly formed seven-member committee will look into the issues of resettlement and rehabilitation of slum dwellers after the eviction.

The committee comprises three Corporators from BJP and two each from Congress and BJD. Election for Chairman of the committee will be held on May 15.

Mayor Ananta Narayan Jena said the committee would make recommendations and resolve infrastructure issues in slum resettlement schemes apart from ensuring basic amenities and infrastructure for resettled colonies. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp