BJD retains top rank, BJP bags 2nd spot

The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has emerged as the number one party in the Zilla Parishad polls by winning 473 zones out of 846 zones where elections were held.

Published: 27th February 2017 03:16 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th February 2017 07:23 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has emerged as the number one party in the Zilla Parishad polls by winning 473 zones out of 846 zones where elections were held.
The BJP has won 297 seats registering more than nine fold jump from 36 seats won in 2012 panchayat polls, while the Congress has slipped to the third place with 60 seats, according to the results announced by the State Election Commission (SEC) on Sunday. While CPI and CPM have won two and one seats respectively, JMM has won one seat. Independents have won 12 seats.
However, situation in Gajapati, Kandhamal, Nabarangpur, Rayagada and Sundargarh districts remains unclear as no political party has won majority of seats.

Out of 14 seats in Gajapati, Congress won six seats while BJD bagged five seats followed by BJP with three seats. However, a peculiar situation has emerged in the district as the BJP which has finished third will have its nominee as the chairperson of the Zilla Parishad.
The post of chairperson of Zilla Parishad has been reserved for woman (SC) and the zone number nine was reserved for woman (SC) candidates. As the BJP candidate has won from the Zone 9 in the district, the post of chairperson will go to her.

BJD has emerged as the largest party by winning nine out of 18 Zilla Parishad zones in Kandhamal district. While four seats each have gone to BJP and Congress, one seat has gone to an Independent. Sources said the BJD is most likely to form the council with the help of Congress or the Independent.
Out of 26 seats in Nabarangpur, BJD has won 11 while BJP and Congress have bagged 7 and 8 seats respectively. A similar situation has emerged in Rayagada where Congress has emerged as the single largest party by winning 11 out of 22 Zilla Parishad zones.
Out of 35 seats in Sundargarh district, BJD has won 14 followed by 13 seats by BJP. Congress has won five seats while CPI, CPM, JMM and Independent have won one seat each.
The BJD will form councils in 16 districts while the BJP will form Zilla Parishads in 8 districts and the Congress in one district.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp