Congress sub-committees step up to combat election debacle job in Odisha

The first sub-committee will have vice-presidents of OPCC Jagneswar Babu and Arjya Kumar Gyanendra as members.

Published: 10th June 2019 07:34 AM  |   Last Updated: 10th June 2019 12:35 PM   |  A+A-

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi with Odisha Congress leader Bhupinder Singh

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi with Odisha Congress leader Bhupinder Singh (L) (File Photo | EPS)

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Congress on Sunday distributed responsibilities among six sub-committees constituted to visit different areas of the State to find out reasons behind the party’s worst ever performance in 2019 elections.

The first sub-committee, of which Sanakhemundi MLA Ramesh Jena is the convenor, will have vice-presidents of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) Jagneswar Babu and Arjya Kumar Gyanendra as members.

ALSO READ: Odisha Congress starts work after Lok Sabha poll debacle

The sub-committee will visit Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Koraput, Rayagada and Gajapati.
Cuttack-Barabati MLA Mohammad Moquim is convenor of second sub-committee with former minister Ganeswar Behera and vice-president of State Mahila Congress Bandita Parida as members.

The sub-committee will visit Ganjam, Puri, Kandhamal, Khurda and Nayagarh districts.

Jeypore MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati is convenor of third sub-committee with OPCC vice-president Sibananda Ray and former MLA Bhujabal Majhi as members.

The sub-committee will visit Kalahandi, Nuapada, Bolangir, Sonepur and Boudh districts.

The fourth sub-committee with former MLA George Tirkey as convenor has been given charge of   Bargarh, Sambalpur, Deogarh, Angul and Jharsuguda districts. Senior leader and Kantabanji MLA Santosh Singh Saluja has been nominated convenor of fifth sub-committee and given charge of Sundargarh, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj, Balasore and Bhadrak districts.

The sixth sub-committee with party MLA Suresh Kumar Routray as convenor and OPCC vice-president Sasmita Behera and Satya Prakash Nayak as members, will visit Jajpur, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack and Dhenkanal districts.

The sub-committees will submit report to committee chairman Narasingh Mishra by June 30.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp