Jayalalithaa announces 9 new taluks

They will be carved out of existing ones with over 4L population; move aimed at boosting efficiency.

Published: 09th May 2012 02:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd June 2012 10:19 PM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Tuesday made a few important announcements with regard to the Revenue Administration in TN — creation of nine new taluks, forming a committee for recommending creation of more new taluks wherever excessive population is present according to last year’s census and setting up of a Disaster Management Training Centre in Kancheepuram at a cost of Rs 10 crore. She said a committee comprising Commissioner of Revenue Administration, Commissioner of Land Administration and Commissioner of Land Reforms would be formed to make recommendations to the government on bifurcating all taluks that have a population of over 4 lakh. The CM said the panel would submit its report in two months.

The Chief Minister also announced the setting up of a Disaster Management Training Centre in Kanchee­puram to train officials of Revenue, Agriculture, Highways and Rural Development departments to reach out to the people when natural calamities  hit.

Jayalalithaa said that the new taluks were being created to offer efficient service. The State had decided to carve out a new taluk with Thirubhuvanam as its headquarters from Manamadurai taluk in Sivaganga district. The Polur taluk in Tiruvannamalai would be bifurcated and a new taluk would come up with Kalasapakkam as its headquarters. The Kunnam taluk in Perambalur would be bifurcated and a new taluk with Alathur as its headquarters would come up.

Similarly, a new taluk with Kinathukadavu as its headquarters would be created by bifurcating Pollachi taluk in Coimbatore. The Coimbatore North taluk would be bifurcated to form a new taluk with Annur as its headquarters. The Chengalpattu taluk would be bifurcated to create a new taluk with Tiruporur as its headquarters. While Kallakurichi and Sankarapuram taluks would be restructured to form a new taluk with Chinna Salem as its headquarters. Similarly,  Bhavani and Gobichettipalayam taluks in Erode would be restructured to create a new taluk with Andhiyur as its headquarters. The Namakkal and Rasipuram taluks in Namakkal district would be restructured to form a new taluk with Kollimalai as its headquarters.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp