CM grants Rs 603 crore for 88,436 houses under Indira Awaas Yojana

J Jayalalithaa allocated Rs 603.39 crore as the Tamil Nadu government’s share towards the construction of 88,436 houses under the Indira Awaas Yojana Scheme

Published: 03rd August 2013 09:06 AM  |   Last Updated: 03rd August 2013 09:06 AM   |  A+A-


Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Friday allocated Rs 603.39 crore as the Tamil Nadu government’s share towards the construction of 88,436 houses under the Indira Awaas Yojana Scheme during the current financial year.

The CM also hiked the unit cost for each house from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 1.20 lakh. Of this, the Centre’s share will be Rs 52,500 per house and State’s share would be Rs 67,500. Indira Awaas Yojana, which used to be a component of Jawahar Rozgar Yojana became an independent Scheme from 1997-1998 onwards.

At least 60 per cent of the total IAY allocation during a financial year should be utilised for construction/ upgradation of dwelling units for SC/ST BPL rural households. A maximum 40 per cent of allocation is for non  SC/ST BPL rural households. Three per cent of the above categories should be allocated for physically and mentally challenged persons. The Government has also asked the States to earmark 15 per cent of the beneficiaries from minorities.

Upto 2011-12, the unit cost of the house constructed under Indira Awaas Yojana was Rs 45,000. Out of this, the Central share was Rs 33,750 and the State’s share was Rs 11,250.   Apart from this, the State government has been providing Rs 30,000 towards RCC Roofing cost.  After assuming office in 2011, Chief Minister Jayalalithaa hiked the roofing cost to Rs 55,000. Thus, the total unit cost of for each house was fixed at Rs 1 lakh. Now, she has further hiked the unit cost of each house to Rs 1.2 lakh. The objective of the scheme is to construct free houses for members of the Scheduled Castes/ Scheduled Tribes, freed bonded labourers in rural areas and for rural poor living below the poverty line. The beneficiaries are selected from the BPL list approved by the Grama Sabha.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp