President's medal for Baskaradass

Published: 16th August 2013 08:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th August 2013 08:13 AM   |  A+A-

P Baskaradass, inspector of police, has been selected for the President’s medal for meritorious service for the year, Chief Secretary Chetan B Sanghi announced at the Independence Day celebrations function here on Thursday. The medal would be given during the Republic Day function next year.

Chief Minister N Rangasamy presented the CM’s police medals for the best service to sub-inspector S Poongavanam and head constable Abdul Razack during the function. Police constables V Baskaran and Arul Kumar were presented with CM’s medal for very good service. Rangasamy also presented the Rajiv Gandhi police medal to inpsector L V Senthil Kumar, head constables Narayanan and Jayaseelan, and constables Koda Balaji, Maheswara Rao, Elango Rasu, and Velmurugan.

Karaikal town police station was adjudged the best police station and a cash award of Rs 5,000 and a trophy were presented to S Venkatachalapathy, sub-inspector of the station.

The NCC Puducherry unit cadets who were awarded included K Kasi Viswanath, A Edwin Siddarth, K Anbazhagan, V Deepika, M Arun Kumar and M Sobana.

MRF limited, Eripakkam, received the Green Award for 2010-2012 for their contribution towards improvement of environment and adopting innovative technologies in pollution control. C S Ramanadan of Saibaba Nagar, Ariyankuppam was presented with Environement Award 2010-2012.

Dr A Arul Visagan (senior medical officer), Dr J Alli Rani (chief medical officer), Dr A Thamizharasi (senior medical officer),  were presented with awards for best field staff of Health and Family Welfare Department.

Others who were awarded included, A Anbazhagan (socialworker), S Chandra (lady health supervisor), K Anadal (health inspector), M Packiri (filaria inspector), J Anand (health assistant), S Maria Kannu (auxilliary nurse midwife), P Deenadayalan (field worker (Malarai), V Gurumurthy (field worker, filaria) and Malarvizhi (ophthalmic technician).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp