AIADMK MLA dead, Jayalalithaa calls him model of loyalty

Published: 19th July 2013 09:46 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th July 2013 10:26 AM   |  A+A-

AIADMK MLA representing Yercaud (ST) Assembly constituency, C Perumal (63), died after suffering a massive heart attack on Thursday morning.

He complained of chest pain around 6.15 am and was taken to Sri Gokulam Hospital in Salem, where he died. Doctors said he had succumbed to a heart attack. He is survived by wife Saroja and three married sons. The body was taken to his home in  Papanickenpatti in Valapadi taluk.

Born in an agricultural family in Pappanaickenpatti on December 8, 1950, Perumal was a functionary of the AIADMK for long. He served as MLA from Yercaud constituency for three terms -- 1989, 1991 and in 2011. 

With his death, the strength of the AIADMK in the Assembly stands at 150. By-election in the Yercaud constituency would have to be held within six months. This would be the fourth by-election the ruling party has to face within two years.

Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa rushed to Salem from Kodanad and paid her last respects to the party leader.The CM arrived at Salem airport by helicopter at 4.30 pm and reached the MLA’s house by road. She hugged Perumal’s wife, Saroja, and consoled her. Overcome by the CM’s compassion, Saroja fell at the her feet.

Expressing grief over the demise of the legislator, the Chief Minister said Perumal was loyal to the party leadership and wedded to the principles of the party. The CM further said Perumal strove for the welfare of the people and was known for his impartial attitude.

“Perumal’s demise is a great loss to the AIADMK as well as the people of his constituency,” she said.

Jayalalithaa left at 6.15 pm and returned to Kodanad by road as dusk had set and the sky was overcast, making her return by helicopter impossible.

State finance minister O Paneerselvam, electricity and prohibition and excise minister Natham R Viswanathan, minister for higher education P Palaniappan, minister for highways & minor ports Edappadi K Palaniswami, minister for transport V Senthil Balaji, minister for rural industries

P Mohan, minister for animal husbandry T K M Chinnayya, deputy speaker Pollachi Jayaraman, whip Madhu were among those present.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp