Jayalalithaa announces 5 AIADMK nominees for six RS seats

Published: 10th June 2013 03:28 PM  |   Last Updated: 10th June 2013 03:28 PM   |  A+A-


AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa today announced five of her party nominees for the June 27 biennial election to the six Rajya Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu, giving V Maithreyan a successive term.

Maithreyan, chief of AIADMK's Medical wing, is one of the six MPs from the state whose term expires by July 27.The others are AIADMK's A Elavarasan, Kanimozhi and Tiruchi N Siva (both DMK), B S Gnanadesikan (Congress) and CPI's D Raja.

According to party release, the other four nominees announced by Jayalalithaa are -- K R Arjunan, T Rathinavel, Dr R Lakshmanan and S Saravanaperumal.

Of the five AIADMK candidates, the ruling party is assured of netting four seats on its own by virtue of its 151-member strength in Tamil Nadu Assembly, whose total strength is 234.

Thirty four first preference votes are required for a candidate to be declared elected.

The Jayalalithaa-led party is likely to woo legislators from other parties, including six dissident DMDK MLAs besides smaller allies like MMK and Puthiya Tamizhagam to win the fifth seat.

AIADMK may also woo CPI (eight MLAs), as the two have been on good terms inside and outside the Assembly.

Jayalalithaa not nominating a member for the sixth vacancy has opened up an interesting set of calculations.

Speculations are already rife that main opposition DMDK with 29 members (including the six dissidents) and DMK (23 MLAs) could go in for a consensus candidate though neither of them have announced any decision so far.

Congress has five MLAs while PMK has three.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp