Two Pondy government teachers chosen for national award

Published: 05th September 2013 08:46 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th September 2013 08:46 AM   |  A+A-

Two teachers from Puducherry will receive the National Award for Teachers from the President of India during the Teachers’ Day celebrations in New Delhi on September 5.

Making the announcement, Chief Minister N Rangasamy said R Vetrivel, headmaster of Thillaiyadi Valliammai Government High School, Kadirkamam, was selected for the award at the primary level and A Abdul Waheed, vice principal of Government Higher Secondary School in Sederapet, was chosen for the award at the secondary level.

At the State level, 13 teachers have been selected in three categories for the Best Teacher Award.

K Sarojadevi of GPS Poraiyur and P Soundappan of Government Middle school Kodathur were selected for Dr Radhakrishnan awards at primary level. 

At the secondary level, A Kuppusamy of Government Higher Secondary School,  Nonankuppam, and R Loganadane of GGHSS, Kadirkamam, were chosen.

M Bhalan of GHS Thirubuvanai will receive the CM’s Special Award for language teachers. Among women teachers  selected for the award are L Aroquiammalle of GPS Thattanchavady, N Kalaivany of GPS Kovilpattu, and M Gnanapregassy of GGHSC Thirunallar in Karaikal.

For the Education Minister’s Regional Award, A Maria Martin of Vallalar GGHSS in Lawspet, Bassa Ayyappa Naidu,Indira Nagar GHSS, and R Arunachalam,Sinnatha GGHSS in Muthialpet were selected from Puducherry. From Karaikal,  S Rajendran of NSC Bose GHS, Thalatheru,and R Rajakannu of Jawahar Nehru GHSC, Nedungadu, were chosen.

Besides this, 227 retired teachers of government and government-aided schools would be honoured on Teachers’ Day for the services rendered.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp