Pondy Effects Major Admin Reshuffle

Dr S Sundaravadivelu, Special Secretary to the Govt, posted as Collector of Puducherry, PCS officer Vallavan new Karaikal Collector

Published: 21st August 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st August 2014 04:46 AM   |  A+A-

PUDUCHERRY: The Union Territory government on Wednesday effected a major administrative reshuffle,  posting Dr S Sundaravadivelu, Special Secretary to the Government, as Collector of Puducherry besides transferring several Puducherry Civil Services officers.

Sundaravadivelu will also function as special secretary (Revenue) in addition to the charges of Personnel, Fisheries, General Administration Department and Hindu Religious Institutions and Wakf. The transfer orders of PCS officers were issued by Lieutenant Governor (in charge) Ajay Kumar Singh with immediate effect.

E Vallavan has been transferred and posted as the Karaikal Collector. He was holding the post of Director of School Education.

It may be recalled that former L-G Virendra Kataria had opposed certain transfer proposals including that of Vallavan. Subsequently, there were lot of discussions over transfers of PCS officers being posted as Collectors.

In the latest reshuffle, L Kumar, who was the Dy Commissioner (Commercial Taxes) has been posted as the Director of School Education while G Srinivas, who was the Labour Commissioner, has been posted in his place. Y L N Reddy, joint secretary (Home) will also be the Labour Commissioner (additional charge).

P T Rudra Goud, awaiting repatriation from Government of Karnataka, has been posted as the Director of the Local Administration Department. He will also hold the post of Director Information Technology). A S Sivakumar, who was on compulsory wait, has been posted as the Registrar of Co-operative Societies. He will replace T Karikalan, who is now posted as Director of Higher and Technical Education. Sivakumar will also hold the post of Managing Director, Pondicherry Power Corporation Limited PPCL) .  

R Smitha, holding the post of CEO, Khadi and Village Industries Board, has been posted as Project Director, Renewable Energy Agency, on deputation. P Malathi Alias Souricala, holding the post of Official on Special Duty (OSD) Higher and Technical Education, has been posted as CEO Khadi and Village Industries Board. She will also be the Joint Project Director, Project Implementation Agency.

S Rajamanikam has been replaced as Commissioner of Pondicherry Municipality by S Thammu Ganapathy, who was the Dy Labour Commissioner. Giddi Balaram will be the Deputy Labour Commissioner from now on. N Sumathi, holding the post of Joint Secretary (Power and Works), is the new Director, Planning and Research. She will hold the post of member secretary, Bharathiar Palkalai Koodam, as additional charge. Mangalatte Dinesh will be the Regional administrator, Mahe while S Kanagaraj will be the Director of Survey and Land records and will also be the secretary, Puducherry Housing Board, relieving P Augustin Lucien Diagou.

R Munisamy, who was the Mahe administrator, has been transferred and posted as the new director of Tourism. He will also hold the post of Managing Director (PT&DC) as additional charge. While Krishna Kumar Singh, now holding the post of Tourism director, has been transferred as Joint Resident Commissioner of Pondicherry Goernment Guest House in New Delhi.

A Abel Rozario, now private secretary to Agriculture Minister will be the Deputy Commissioner (Excise). S Ganessin, now regional administrator, Yanam, has been transferred and posted as Adi-Dravidar Welfare department. He will hold the post of Managing Director, PADCO as additional charge. T Elangovan will be the new director of Art and culture and will also hold the post of Deputy Director Civil Supplies as additional charge, replacing Giddi Balaram, who is posted as Deptuy Labour Commissioner.

S K Paneerselvam, holding the post of Director Adi-dravidar Welfare Department, has been posted as Executive officer, Temples, Karaikal. V Thenrali, now under Secretary (DPAR II) has been transferred and posted as Under Secretary (Public works and Power).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp