AIADMK Youth Get Their Fair Share of Tickets in Chennai, Suburbs

AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa not only chose a lot of new faces to give Lok Sabha tickets; she also gave them to many youth.

Published: 25th February 2014 08:33 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th February 2014 08:33 AM   |  A+A-

AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa not only chose a lot of new faces to give Lok Sabha tickets; she also gave them to many youth. In fact, the average age of the party candidates fielded from Chennai and its suburbs is 45.

Dr J Jayavardhan (26), who is doing his MD is the youngest of the lot. He is the son of former Assembly Speaker D Jayakumar. He got Chennai (South) ticket.

S R Vijayakumar (39), the party’s Chennai (Central) candidate, entered active politics while in college.  He received his BA degree from Pachaiyappa’s College and BL from Ambedkar Government Law College. He unsuccessfully contested the elections to the Chennai Corporation in 2006. At present, he is the secretary of AIADMK student’s wing.

For the Kancheepuram (SC) seat, the party chose Maragatham Kumaravel (30) as nominee. A graduate, Kumaravel is the joint secretary of the party’s youth brigade’s Tiruporur unit.

T G Venkatesh Babu (53), the party’s nominee for Chennai (North), too entered active politics while in college. He completed MSc (Zoology) in Pachaiyappa’s College. A member of the AIADMK general council, he is at present the chairman of the Tamil Nadu Industrial Investment Corporation. He unsuccessfully contested the Assembly elections in 2001 from Purasaiwalkam constituency.

For Tiruvallur, the party gave the ticket to sitting Lok Sabha member Dr P Venugopal (62). Hailing from Mappedu, in Tiruvallur district, he received his degree in medicine from Stanley Medical College, Chennai. At present, he is the secretary of party’s Doctors Wing.

The party’s Sriperumbudur ticket went to K N Ramachandran (59), who runs the Sakthi Mariyamman Engineering college at Thandalam.

A postgraduate in political science, he had unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha elections from Kancheepuram in 2004. Since 2006, he has been the presidium chairman of the Kancheepuram Central district.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp