Alliance, Caste Equations Hold Key to Poll Victory

In Vellore, alliance arithmatic with a dash of caste politics have determined who would represent it in Parliament

Published: 19th March 2014 07:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2014 07:51 AM   |  A+A-

In Vellore, alliance arithmatic with a dash of caste politics have determined who would represent it in Parliament. Since 1951, eight Congress, four from DMK, two from PMK, one AIADMK, an Independent and two IUML nomineess have been elected from Vellore. The constituency, which was reserved till 1971, became general from 1977.

The constituency has an evenly distributed Mudaliar, Muslim, Vanniyar and SC population in all the six Assembly segments of Vellore, Anaikattu, Kilvaithinankuppam, Ambur, Vaniyambadi and the reserved constituencies of Gudiyattam and KV Kuppam. Most candidates who won the seat with a decent margin were Mudaliars or Muslims or Vanniyars. No major incidents of caste rivalry, group clashes and communal disharmony have been reported in the constituency. There is a huge population engaged in farm activities in the northern parts along the Palar belt while an equal percentage of in the leather units, beedi-rolling and weaving activities, are spread across the entire constituency. The constituency has elected candidates - based on the alliance factor and has opted for stability at the Centre. Some of the major local issues of long-standing nature such as tannery pollution, water scarcity caused by drying up of Palar river, the lifeline of the district, though at times dominated the campaign scenario, have never influenced the voting pattern. Sitting MP Abdul Rahman, a non-local, and a senior member of Indian Union Muslim League, an alliance party of the DMK, is contesting for the second consecutive term while his party is on a hat-trick here. He contested on a DMK ticket in 2009 and defeated his nearest AIADMK rival L K M B Vasu by a margin of 10,000-plus votes.

The Assembly segments of Ambur and Vaniyambadi dominated by the presence of Muslims and educated SC communities hold the key in tilting the results in favour of the IUML candidate, even as the BJP and other parties are yet to name their candidates.

Assembly Segments: Vellore: Dr Vijay (AIADMK), Anaicut: M Kalaiarasu (won on PMK ticket but expelled recently), Gudiyattam: K Lingamuthu (CPI), KV Kuppam: C K Tamilarasan (RPI/AIADMK), Ambur: Aslam Basha (Manithaneya Makkal Katchi), Vaniyambadi: Govi Sampathkumar (AIADMK)

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp