Triangular Clash between DMK, ADMK, CPI at Nagai

It will be essentially a triangular contest between the two major Dravidin parties and CPI in the coastal constituency of Nagapattinam.

Published: 21st March 2014 07:46 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st March 2014 07:46 AM   |  A+A-

It will be essentially a triangular contest between the two major Dravidin parties and CPI in the coastal constituency of Nagapattinam.

The present Nagapattinam constituency has six assembly segments including Nagapattinam, Kilvelur (SC) and Vedaranyam in Nagapattinam district and Tiruvarur, Nannilam and Thiruthuraipoondi (SC) assembly constituencies in Tiruvarur district.

The reserved constituency has a total of 11, 88, 738 eligible voters including a sum of 5, 96, 019 male voters and 5, 92, 712 female voters besides seven transgender voters from Tiruvarur assembly constituency.    

Being a tail-end district of the Cauvery delta with 1.37 lakh hectare of cultivable area for both samba and kuruvai paddy plantations and also with the substantial fleet strength of 1064 mechanised boats, fishing and farming activities happens to be the major economic contributors for the district.

Apart from earmarked tags of fisheries and farming professionals, the Nagapattinam district has major pilgrimage centres including the Shrine Basilica at Velankanni, Hazrat Syed Shahul Hameed Dargah at Nagore and plenty of temples at the heart of the town. So, tourism has always been a key factor for driving commercial activities. However, the poor conditions of the arterial roadways and the bad shape of Nagapattinam new bus stand, besides the lack of amenities continues to irk the tourists.

Besides, the general public of the coastal district here opines that the constituency has other demands to be addressed.

The AIADMK was the first to field Dr K Gopal as its candidate for the Nagapattinam Parliamentary constituency.

In the DMK, the sitting MP AKS Vijayan was re-nominated. The 52 year old graduate Vijayan has been consecutively elected to Parliament from the Nagapattinam constituency three times since 1999.

The left parties have announced G Palanisamy of CPI who have won from Thiruthuraipoondi (SC) assembly constituency for four consecutive times during the 1989, 1991, 1996 and 2001 state assembly elections as their candidate.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp