Will Karur Favour Thambidurai Again?

Candidates of AIADMK and DMK are locked in a straight fight in Karur, despite the presence of two other parties in the fray.

Published: 22nd March 2014 07:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd March 2014 08:09 AM   |  A+A-

Candidates of AIADMK and DMK are locked in a straight fight in Karur, despite the presence of two other parties in the fray. The Karur Lok Sabha constituency was formed during 1957 elections. Karur Parliamentary constituency is spread across the districts of Tiruchy, Pudukottai and Dindugal.

It comprises six Assembly constituencies including  Karur, Aravakurichi, Krishnarayapuram (Reserved) bound to Karur district, and encompasses Vedasandur of Dindugal, Manaparai of Tiruchy and Viralimalai of Pudukottai districts.

With the data available prior to the special voters enrolment campaign, so far, the constituency has 12,78,348 voters including 6,32,187 male men and 6,46,132 women.

According to the records 14 Lok Sabha were elections held in Karur, the representatives of Indian National Congress (INC) had been elected six times for Parliament during 1957, 1962, 1971, 1977, 1980 and 1984, five times, the AIADMK candidates were elected to the Lok Sabha five times in 1989, 1991, 1998, 1999 and 2009, while representatives of Swatantra Party, Tamil Manila Congress (Moopanar) and DMK were elected in 1967, 1996 and 2004 respectively.

Karur district is located along the course of river Cauvery and river Amaravathi that gives the district a good prospect of farming activities. Besides, over 500 textile manufacturing and exporting firm are functioning approximately bringing forex of around  `5,000 crore annually and the sector provides job opportunities for more than 50,000 families.

Aravakurichi segment has over 150 blue metal industries and quarries that cater to the demands of road laying industry. Vedasandur segment has more than 60 spinning mills employing thousands of unskilled and semi skilled workers. The economy is under the control of Gounder community in Karur and Aravakurichi. Besides, the constituency holds significant strength of various communities like Mutharayar, Dalit and Mudhaliyar.

AIADMK candidate  M Thambidurai who has won from the seat in 1989, 1998 and 2009 is contesting for the fourth time. Chinnasami was a brought-up of AIADMK who had quit and attached himself with the DMK during 2010. He was elected to Assembly in 1980 and in 1991 and  was elected to Parliament in 1999. DMDK, Congress and AAP are also in the fray.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp