Solution to Water Woes, Industry Issues to Decide the Vote in Turmeric Town

In the textile constituency of Erode which is witnessing a six-cornered contest, the sitting MP and MDMK candidate A Ganesamurthy is the lone known face to voters.

Published: 26th March 2014 07:52 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th March 2014 08:08 AM   |  A+A-

In the textile constituency of Erode which is witnessing a six-cornered contest, the sitting MP and MDMK candidate A Ganesamurthy is the lone known face to voters.

The other candidates S Selvakumara Chinnaiyan (AIADMK), Pavithravalli (DMK), P Gobi (Cong), Sethupathy (BSP) and Kumarasamy (AAP) are new to the poll arena.

The segment comprises Erode East, West, Modakurichi in Erode district, Dharapuram and Kangayam in Tiruppur district, besides Komarapalayam in Namakkal district.

Among the 6 segments, Erode East, West and Komarapalayam are urban areas, Modakurichi is a fertile area of the Lower Bhavani Project (LBP) ayacut. Dharapuram and Kangayam are drought prone areas having LBP ayacut in some areas.

The segment is famous for textile, turmeric, copra and edible oil production. Ganesamurthy was the DMK district secretary of the composite Coimbatore district in 1984 and was elected to assembly from Modakurichi as a DMK member. When Vaiko formed the MDMK, he walked with him and became its district secretary in 1993. He was elected to Parliament from Palani constituency. A BA graduate, he was detained under POTA for 555 days in 2002 and won from Erode in 2009 polls defeating former minister EVKS Elangovan (Congress) by a margin of nearly 5,0000 votes. He is trying his luck again.

Selvakumara Chinnaiyan, the AIADMK is a a lawyer is the party’s Erode district lawyers’ wing secretary. Pavithravalli, an MBA graduate is a member of DMK.  Gobi, an MA graduate, is a textile businessman from Tirupur and Kumarasamy is an engineer and Sethupathy is a retired IT officer.  

The constituency was formed before the 2004 polls after delimitation exercise. Before that, it was in the name of Tiruchengodu  which elected SN Ramasamy (Independent) in 1951, P Subbarayan (Congress) in 1957 and 1962, K Anbazhagan (DMK) in 1967, M Muthusamy (DMK) in 1971, R Kolandaivelu (AIADMK) in 1977, M Kandasamy (DMK) in 1980, P Kannan (AIADMK) in 1984, KC Palanisamy (AIADMK) in 1989, KS Soundaram (AIADMK) 1991, KP Ramalingam (DMK) in 1996, K Palanisamy (AIADMK) in 1998, M Kannapan (MDMK) in 1999, and Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan (DMK) in 2004.

Lack of basic infrastructure, long pending Erode-Palani rail project, industrial pollution in Cauvery, many problems of textile sector, inadequate price for turmeric and copra, drought conditions, water scarcity and lack of major industries are the main problems of the segment.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp