Three Koodankulam Activists File Nominations in Tamil Nadu

Published: 29th March 2014 10:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th March 2014 10:30 PM   |  A+A-


A total of 63 Lok Sabha candidates including three anti-Koodankulam project activists from the AAP, a Congressman, four CPI-M members and several independent candidates Saturday filed their nominations in Tamil Nadu on the first day, said an official.

The three activists - S.P.Udayakumar (Kanyakumari), M.Jesuraj (Tirunelveli) and M.Pushparayan (Tuticorin)- filed their nominations Saturday as the candidates for Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Curiously the AAP has not made its policy clear on the nuclear power plants. The Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL) is setting up two 1,000 MW atomic power plants in Koodankulam in Tirunelveli district around 650 km from here.

Congress leader Manishankar Aiyar filed his nomination for Mayiladuthurai constituency, while Communist Party of India-Marxist candidates D.Vikraman and P.R.Natarajan filed their nominations in Madurai and Coimbatore respectively.

Saturday was the first day for filing the poll papers.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp