Twitter Goes on Fire With Bouquets, Brickbats

Conceding defeat after a bad day at the polls usually warrants a lengthy face-saving statement.

Published: 17th May 2014 07:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th May 2014 07:48 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: Conceding defeat after a bad day at the polls usually warrants a lengthy face-saving statement. But after decades of using the tried-and-perfected rigmarole, even seasoned politicians like the DMK patriarch are taking a page out of Narendra Modi’s book. M Karunanidhi’s IT team quickly used his twitter handle (@kalaignar89) to tweet the link to his statement at 11 am, well before it’s hardcopy did the rounds.

While NaMo himself (and his well-formed media team) leveraged social media to the hilt, it appears as if the DMK is slowly getting the hang of it. Even their heir apparent M K Stalin quickly tweet-congratulated Narendra Modi on his victory and added his two cents to their whitewash: “DMK accepts the people’s judgement wholeheartedly. We will continue to service the people and society, defeat will not deter us from our vision,” he tweeted.

Though this isn’t anywhere close to Shashi Tharoor’s live-tweeting reactions to his rocky road victory over the BJP, this is certainly an improvement for the Kazhagam. It also goes without saying that it’s easier for people like Karunanidhi, Stalin and Khusbu to keep tweeting because they didn’t end up losing this election. People like T K S Elangovan, who are otherwise twitter-savvy, chose to stay off the twitterverse.

Alagiri’s ouster from the DMK may be a forgotten thing for the party, but his son Dhayanidhi Alagiri’s tweets praising Modi’s victory and calling the “DMK’s embarassing performance” something that was “expected”, was seen as a betrayal by partymen. A lot of flak may have gone back and forth had it not been for the fact that most DMK twitter accounts and users stayed silent through Friday.

Rajinikanth, who normally stays away from reacting to election results, used the microblogging site to send his congratulations out. “Hearty congratulations dear Narendra Modi ji on your historic win,” he said to the PM-in-waiting, and to Jayalalithaa, “My congratulations to TN CM J Jayalalithaa on her landslide victory”.

More from Tamil Nadu.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp